312 Calorie Lunch

December 16, 2008

I’m always trying to come up with easy lunches that I can make just for myself. I’ve been whipping up soccas–flatbreads made of chickepea flour, water, salt and olive oil–since reading this Bitten blog back in May. The blog offers substitutions for the chickpea flour, saying that its a little hard to find. It might be; I don’t know. I’ve just been throwing a cup of plain dried chickpeas into my  blender and letting it rip until the chickpeas have turned into a floury dust. Then I mix it up with a cup and a half of water, salt to taste (yes, I stick my finger in the batter and taste it for salt). In the meantime, I put a 12-inch cast iron skillet in an oven preheating to 450. I also thinly slice a shallot if I have one. When the oven is  ready, I put two tablespoons of olive oil in the smoking hot pan, then the sliced shallot, and then I pour the batter in and bake it for about 40 minutes. I pull it out of the oven and eat half.

I’ve always been afraid this was a super high calorie lunch, but to my huge relief a whole cup of chickpea flour has only 356 calories. (It also contains 20 grams of protein and 10 grams of fiber.) Two and half tablespoons of olive oil clocks in at 239 calories. A shallot? Only 29 calories. So the whole flatbread has 625 calories and I only eat half–that’s 312. Less than a lot of “diet” frozens meals, this flatbread is full of good healthy stuff and really filling. Not to mention, delicious. And dirt cheap.

Leave a Reply

