153.5

December 17, 2008

It was one of those mornings when I looked at the scale and said to myself: is this a joke? I had such a light, nutritious, and (almost) alcohol-free day yesterday. (Just one glass of malbec.) No sweets, no restaurant food of any kind. What a bummer. Let’s just chalk it up to a crazy fluctuation. I’m not going to spend the day sulking about it. That’s part of the reason I’m doing this, to get it out and let it go.

At least I slept well. Eating restaurant meals later in the evening and/or having more than one glass of wine almost guarantees that I won’t get enough rest. I’ve always been a funny sleeper, but I definitely sleep best when I have a lighter meal later in the day.

Last night, I had a bowl of corn chowder, a very light and delicious dinner. I’d give you the recipe here, but it’s in Almost Meatless, which isn’t out yet. The chowder gets its creaminess from a secret addition of silken tofu–not milk or cream. There’s actually no dairy in it at all. The only high-calorie ingredient is a mere 2 slices of bacon. I use the fat to cook the onions and then sprinkle the chowder with a few crispy bacon bits. Each serving has the equivalent of about 1/4 slice of bacon–that’s not bad at all.

2 Responses to “153.5”


  1. I know I’m replying backwards, but a benefit of lifting weights is that you can throw out the scale since muscle weighs more than fat (and even though I weigh the same as I did 10 years ago, I’m leaner because of lifting). At least that’s what I tell myself…


  2. […] my closest coworkers–the three of them weighed a combined total of oh, I don’t know, 153.5 pounds. That may be an exaggeration, but none of them cleared […]


Leave a Reply

