Clarification

December 18, 2008

I am so excited people seem to like and relate to the blog. I’ve gotten so many e-mails from the almost 300 of you who have logged on in the past two days. I really appreciate those who have left comments here; I believe comments are the heart and soul of any blog, so please, please, please tell me what you think in the comments.

Via e-mail, I keep hearing the following sentiment from people, and I just want to clear something up:

Whatever, Joy, I still think you are so lucky to have the best job ever!

I know it! If keeping my job meant gaining another 50 pounds, I wouldn’t even have to think about it. Being skinny is nowhere near as good as having a job you love. And when I go out to eat for work, I do not sit there fretting about the calories or–God forbid–make decisions about what to order based on what seems less fattening.When I’m evaluating a restaurant, I am absorbed in the experience. I want to taste as much variety as I can.

Food writing is absolutely the best thing that ever happened to me. I always knew I wanted to write. I went to graduate school for fiction writing. But it wasn’t until I started writing about food in 2004 that I knew what kind of work I should be doing. It was like finally finding the right key for a lock. A door that seemed hopelessly shut just swung open and I stepped inside my future.

I know so many talented people who are still rifling through all the keys in the universe, trying to unlook their door. I am regularly awestruck by my good luck. I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world, not even perpetual thinness.

3 Responses to “Clarification”

  1. Dan Says:

    “Food writing is absolutely the best thing that ever happened to me. ”

    I think you mean the second best!

  2. Nicole Says:

    Joy, I’m so happy that you are living your dream. I always believed that you would get there. I’m so excited for you and really proud of you for having the courage to write this blog. You’ve been inspiring me for years. (You even made me a fan of Kashi GoLean!)


Leave a Reply

