151.5

December 20, 2008

Fine by me.

I’m hoping to get to the gym today, though it might not happen because this is the official 2008 Manning-Call holiday baking weekend.

What’s on tap? Well, Dan made his oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies last night. If I can get him to dictate the recipe, I will post it. He’s been making them since he was a kid.

Two from the December issue of Food & Wine:

Sugar-Crusted Chocolate Cookies

and

Butterscotch-Glazed Coffee Shortbread Bars

Finally, we’ll use up leftover egg whites (from all the times we made mayo and froze the whites) in meringues. I’m not sure what recipe I’ll use, but if you have one that yields a crisp exterior and still-a-bit-marshmallowy-and-soft interior, please tell me. I hate a rock hard meringue.

Leave a Reply

