151

December 23, 2008

I am calling my efforts to avoid gaining holiday weight successful so far. Everyone knows it’s impossible to lose weight during the holidays.

I had planned to finish up a writing project this morning and then go shopping in Center City for a couple of outfits I can feel good about wearing at various events in the next week.

Historically, I only shop when I’m thinner. Over the years this has resulted in a wardrobe that doesn’t fit most of the time. I have numerous items I bought when the scale hit some new low and then I subsequently wore just once–that one day it fit. I have clothes in sizes 4, 6, 8 and 10 and only the size 10 items fit. Of course, those are the ones I have the fewest of. I do get into size 12 territory. Those are the times I stick to pajamas and sweatpants.

Nice, flattering clothes that fit make everyone look thinner. But I stop myself from shopping because I tell myself I’m just about to lose 10 pounds. So I resolved to go out today, take advantage of the sales and buy some things I feel good wearing. Now it’s just the fact that its 19 degrees that keeps me from heading out …

One Response to “151”

  1. Jax Says:

    I do that too. I’ve just started to realize that I’m not going to lose weight unless I accept myself as I am, and I’m not going to accept myself as I am until I feel good, and I’m not going to feel good unless I look good. So, off to the Gap outlet …


Leave a Reply

